nomadvita.blogg.se

Install ssd in mac mini 2010
Install ssd in mac mini 2010






install ssd in mac mini 2010
  1. INSTALL SSD IN MAC MINI 2010 MAC OS X
  2. INSTALL SSD IN MAC MINI 2010 UPDATE

It can easily take 4 minutes to fully boot to a useful state.

INSTALL SSD IN MAC MINI 2010 MAC OS X

Nevertheless, Mac OS X or macOS running on an HDD iMac is SLOW. Most of my real work takes places online or on remove servers the OS isn’t a factor that I take into consideration. I have a mid-2011 iMac I use at my office to keep my workspace clean and straightforward. Just follow the instructions as below, using the new installer version.

INSTALL SSD IN MAC MINI 2010 UPDATE

Update October 2, 2016: Lots of folks have reported that this works with El Capitan and I’ve used it with macOS Sierra as well. It’s possible for that Mac to boot in under 30 seconds and to jump generations ahead for under $200. So far - no working Samsung 860 EVO on my Mac Mini Mid 2010 and looking into firmware updates but it’s not so simple when the Mac Mini is my only machine with the Optical Drive.Įdit : after replacing the SATA Cable with a SATA3 one specced for a Mac Mini 2012, diskutil command line showed the SSD, and then it was able to be formatted by Disk Utility and a restore of time machine kicked off.If you have an iMac with Thunderbolt or USB 3 but without an SSD you can boot from a full-speed external SSD without opening the case. If I’m going to find a correct cable for the default HDD on the Mac Mini Mid 2010, which one is it - that will work with my SATAIII drive (that link negotiates as per Samsung Spec) on a SATA 2.0 controller? I’ve read all the other comments from Dan about swapping SATA cables but I can only find “original” SATA cables for my SATA 2.0 capable chipset (based upon the screenshot 3Gbps link speed listed). Put the original drive back in and the system booted up fine, but is still super slow and negotiated to SATA 1.0 link speed. I installed the Samsung 860 EVO and booted off a High Sierra USB, and the disk utility can’t even see the SSD :( That way you can reduce the size of the SSD you need.

install ssd in mac mini 2010

Leaving your HD as the data drive for your stuff.

install ssd in mac mini 2010

That way you can keep your current drive and then after installing your MacOS onto the SSD as well as your User accounts & Apps switch the boot drive over to your new SSD. Or, if you have the server version then this kit: Mac mini Dual Drive Kit As an option you can add in a second drive using this kit: Installing Mac mini Mid 2010 Dual Drive replacing your optical drive. Depending on which version of system ( 2010 Mac Mini’s (Macmini4,1) you do have a second choice. I’m not sure I understand you listing out the different drive sizes its upto you what your needs are. Not all drives do this! So you picked a winner here as your system is only SATA II (3.0 Gb/s). In truth it runs at all of the SATA speeds: SATA I (1.5 Gb/s), SATA II (3.0 Gb/s) & SATA III (6.0 Gb/s) we call these drives ‘auto sense’ as it will match up with your systems SATA Port I/O speed.

install ssd in mac mini 2010

Do take the time to read some of the comments before you start.Īs for your choice of SSD’s: The Samsung 860 EVO line is a great drive. Transfer it to your SSD in the same location. At Step 21 you’ll need to take the thermal sensor off, use extreme care! As its very easy to break. Here’s the IFIXIT guide you’ll need to follow to swap out your drives: Mac mini Mid 2010 Hard Drive Replacement.








Install ssd in mac mini 2010